8 Branches of Ayurveda

The health care activities were entrusted to selected families who were proficient in the 8 branches of Ayurveda. The literal translation of Ashtavaidya is 'Eight Scholars/Physicians' probably referring to the mastery over the 8 branches of ayurveda.  


These branches are:

1.    General medicine: Kaya Chikitsa

2.    Surgery: Salya Chikitsa

3.    Ears, nose and throat neurology: Oordhwanga Chikitsa

4.    Pediatrics: Bala Chikitsa

5.    Toxicology: Damshtra Chikitsa

6.    Genatrics: Jara Chikitsa

7.    Gynaecology and Rejuvenation Therapy: Virsha Chikitsa

8.    Psychiatry: Graha Chikitsa

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

You may also like

View all
Example blog post
Example blog post
Example blog post